Call for Papers

One Week Extension for Abstract and Paper Submission!

June 13, 2017:  Workshops and Tutorials
June 14-16, 2017: Main Conference
Chicago, USA

Sponsored by ACM/SIGARCH

ICS is the premier international forum for the presentation of research results in high-performance computing. The 2017 conference will be held in Chicago, United States.

Papers are solicited on all aspects of research, development, and application of high-performance computing systems, including but not limited to the following:

  • Computer architecture and hardware, including multicore, manycore and multiprocessor systems from small to very large scales, components in such systems such as accelerators, memory systems, storage architectures, interconnection networks at various levels, and heterogeneous systems;
  • Programming and execution models for high-performance computing, including new paradigms, languages, task creation and specification models, domain-specific language/programming support;
  • Static and dynamic compilation: optimization techniques to exploit all aspects of high performance architectures and auto-tuning techniques;
  • Runtime and system software support for high-performance computing, including task and resource management at chip-level, cluster-level, up to the level of large-scale academic/commercial computing service infrastructure, debugging, fault-tolerance, power/energy management, file systems, and performance evaluation/monitoring
  • New computational algorithms and their applications for high performance computing systems.
  • Workload characterization empirical studies especially those on new scientific and commercial applications that pose significant challenges, and studies of highly experimental real systems.
  • Data intensive high performance computing: system support, algorithm design and application development for high performance computing that deal with large-scale collected data sets.

The review process will include a rebuttal period, and the papers will be judged based on novelty, technical soundness, and potential impact on the field.

Important dates

Abstract submission: January 11, 2017
now January 18, 2017   AOE
Paper submission: January 18, 2017
now January 25, 2017   AOE
Workshop/Tutorial proposals: February 18, 2017 AOE
Workshop/Tutorial notification: March 1, 2017       AOE
Author rebuttal period: March 5-7, 2017   AOE
Author notification: March 21, 2017    AOE
Camera-ready papers due: April 15, 2017      AOE
Workshops/tutorial day: June 13, 2017
Main conference days: June 14-16, 2017

AOE (Anywhere on Earth) dates shown above mean the deadlines are at 11:59pm UTC -12:00 of the days. The above dates are tentative and subject to change. Consult the conference website for the most up-to-date scheduling information.


The submission site is at easychairUse the “sigconf” style in the ACM 2017 template. Extensive documentation can be found at the ACM site. Submissions should be a maximum of ten (10) pages, including references.

Submissions (both abstract and paper) should be prepared for double blind review, i.e., without author names, or other identifying material in the submission. Authors should refer to themselves in the 3rd person when citing their own work.

The submission system requests information about the authors. This information will not be given to the reviewers.

Organizing committee

William Gropp, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Pete Beckman, Argonne National Laboratory / Northwestern University

Zhiyuan Li, Purdue University
Francisco J. Cazorla, Barcelona Supercomputing Center

Kyle Hale, Illinois Institute of Technology

Rosa M Badia, Barcelona Supercomputing Center

Zhiling Lan, Illinois Institute of Technology

Sameer Shende, University of Oregon


Costas Bekas IBM
Ron Brightwell Sandia National Laboratories
Ali R. Butt Virginia Tech
Alper Buyuktosunoglu IBM
Ro Cammarota University of California Irvine
Marc Casas Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Ding Chen University of Rochester
Bruce Childers University of Pittsburgh
Peter Dinda Northwestern University
Gabor Dozsa ARM, Cambridge
Michel Dubois University of Southern California
Yoav Etsion Technion Israel Institute of Technology
Thomas Fahringer University of Innsbruck
Jose Flich Universitat Politècnica de València
Efstratios Gallopoulos University of Patras
Isaac Gelado NVIDIA
Saugata Ghose Carnegie Mellon University
Juan Gomez-Luna University of Córdoba
Ananth Grama Purdue University
Clemens Grelck University of Amsterdam
Daniel A. Jiménez Texas A&M University
Jack Lange University of Pittsburgh
Jaejin Lee Seoul National University
Lei Liu Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Science
David K. Lowenthal University of Arizona
Satoshi Matsuoka Tokyo Institute of Technology
Jose Moreira IBM
Miquel Moreto Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Tipp Moseley Google Research
Frank Mueller North Carolina State University
Onur Mutlu Carnegie Mellon University
Ryan Newton Indiana University
Dimitrios Nikolopoulos Queen’s University of Belfast
David Padua University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Dhabaleswar K. Panda Ohio State University
Alex Rico ARM
Saddayapan Ohio State University
Rizos Sakellariou University of Manchester
Martin Schulz Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Per Stenstrom Chalmers University of Technology
Sudharshan Vazkudail Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Cheng Wang Google
David Whalley Florida State University
Jingling Xue University of New South Wales
Antonia Zhai University of Minnesota


Emmanuel Agullo INRIA
Trevor E. Carlson Uppsala University
Sangyeun Cho Samsung
Christophe Dubach The University of Edinburgh
Ana Gainaru Mellanox
Pieter Ghysels Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Diana Göhringer Ruhr-University Bochum
Jose Gracia High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart
Kyle Hale Illinois Institute of Technology
Hong Jiang University of Texas at Arlington
Alexandra Jimborean Uppsala University
Arun Kejariwal Machine Zone, Inc.
Donghyuk Lee Nvidia
Jenq-Kuen Lee Tsinghua University
I-Ting Angelina Lee Washington University in St. Louis
David Lilja University of Minnesota
Mieszko Lis University of British Columbia
Yung-hsiang Lu Purdue University
Krishna T Malladi Samsung
Koibuchi Michihiro National Institute of Informatics
Maxim Naumov Nvidia
Santosh Pande Georgia Tech
Jongsoo Park Intel Labs
Miquel Pericas Chalmers University of Technology
Thomas Ropars Grenoble Alpes University
Jennifer B. Sartor Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Kelly Shaw University of Richmond
Govind S. Shenoy University of Edinburgh
Fengguang Song Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Shuaiwen Leon Song Pacific Northwest National Lab
Hongyang Sun Vanderbilt University
Martin Swany Indiana university
Enrique Vallejo University of Cantabria
Bo Wu Colorado School of Mines
Chenggang Wu Chinese Academy of Sciences